Posted by: nancycurteman | August 30, 2016

Writing is Rewriting and Editing

Bookmark and Share

th-1Writing is rewriting and editing. Every author has a personal procedure for tackling this important step in the writing process. Some complete their entire novel before editing. Some laboriously perfect each page before advancing their story. Some just hire an editor to review it then they rewrite their novel incorporating the suggestions provided by the professional editor. Some may use a combination of these strategies. Here is the process that works for me.

  • I begin by writing several chapters.
  • I submit one chapter at a time to my critique group.
  • All the members of my critique group review my chapter. They provide both line editing and developmental editing. They also make specific suggestions for improvements and clarity. They put this information in writing for me.
  • After my critique group returns the critiques to me, I do my first rewrite of my chapter. I follow this procedure for each chapter in my novel.
  • My second rewrite happens when I finish writing my novel. I do a rewrite of the entire novel on the computer.
  • The third step in the process is to print out the novel and read it making improvement notes on the hard copy. I then input these improvements into the computer document.
  • My final rewrite takes place after I have submitted the story to my publisher’s editor. The editor provides both developmental and line editing suggestions. I incorporate his suggestions into my novel then resubmit to my publisher.

This is one process for editing and rewriting. If you have other ideas I’d love to hear them.

More Tips:

Polish Your Writing: Cut the Riffraff
Developmental Editing: How to do it
How to Edit Your Mystery Novel

Responses

  1. My process is nearly identical and it works for me. I do add one extra step. Before submitting it to a publisher, I have about 5 people beta test for me.

    Like

    • Hi Bradley,
      Great comment. Actually I do the same and then rewrite areas needed. Thanks for the reminder.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Author Art Carey emailed this bit of editing wisdom:
    “I think it’s important to remember that every correction and editing change creates opportunities for new mistakes. When the final draft is done, I spell check to spot and fix typing errors.”

    Like

    • Excellent point, Art. Spelling errors in a novel are disastrous.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

