Posted by: nancycurteman | June 29, 2015

How I Use Social Media to Market My Mystery Novels

Bookmark and Share a723ed50e15501d21e3d8a7d88b5d64aPromoting mystery novels or any novel through online social media is one of the most effective and least expensive ways authors can publicize their books today. Here’s how I use social media to market my mystery novels.
  • • I began by focusing on six social media sites: Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, YouTube and Pinterest. I signed up for each site for free. Clear directions for how to sign up are listed at each site.
  • • I explored what each site had to offer then chose which ones would fit my needs.
  • • On Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest, I chose to create my own page including photos of my book covers and myself along with space to post photos related to my stories. For example, I posted photos about South Africa for my novel, “Murder Casts a Spell,” photos about France for “Murder on the Seine” and Aussie photos for “Murder Down Under.” For example, I used the cat photo above to advertise “Murder Casts a Spell.” Under the photo I typed “Like a good mystery set in mysterious Africa?” I put a link to my novel sale page on Amazon. Simple as that.
  • I used my author name on these pages and as my Twitter handle.
  • On all the sites I created links to my Amazon Sale Page, my website and my blog site.
  • My publisher created and placed a book trailer video on YouTube. I placed it to on my website.
  • I installed Social Share Buttons as plug-ins on my blog. These buttons allow people to share my page on other social platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn where their “friends” can read my blog posts.
  • On Twitter I tweet, retweet and favorite others’ posts, and express thanks when others retweet me.
  • On all my sites I’m careful to relate my content to my books. I avoid controversial political or religious topics.
  • I identified groups on Twitter and Facebook who might be interested in topics related to my book and joined them. Some of my interest targets are: Travel, Mystery Readers, Foreign Food Lovers.
  • I joined several virtual reader communities: Goodreads, AuthorsDen, Shelfari and Red Room. Check them out.

The efforts I’ve made so far to promote my mystery novels are just the beginning. I’m exploring more possibilities that exist in this exciting new marketing tool. If you have social media marketing strategies, I’d love to learn about them.

More Tips:

14 Suggestions for Creating a Marketing Plan
Free Book Marketing Using Email
How to Market Your Novel

Responses

  1. I just love your helpful tips to potential authors. A month or so ago (I’ve lost track of time since I’ve retired) I emailed a link for one of your tips to my brother-in-law, and he wrote back and asked if it would be OK to get the URL for your blog site. He has just published his 3rd book (at least) and I’m reading it now that I’ve finished all your books (except for that Lethal Lesson I have yet to get). His recent one is also a mystery. Like you, he is also a retired teacher, He taught most of his years in Special Ed (high school) up in Oregon. I think he will find this blog interesting because he’s doing some of the same things you’ve mentioned, like using social media. Besides you two, there’s another retired teacher friend of mine who lives near me who is also writing children’s books. You all are inspirational. I’m wondering if you’d consider being the Guest Speaker at one of our upcoming CalRTA meetings in Fremont. I, of course, have nothing to do with setting up the guest speakers, but you are the type of person I’d like to hear give a talk. Keep those tips coming (and those books!). I can’t wait to see what’s next with Lysi.

    Like

  2. Maureen, I’m so happy you find my suggestions helpful. Of course you can share my blog URL with your brother-in-law. I’d enjoy hearing from him about his books and his marketing strategies. I’d love to speak at one of your CalRTA meetings in Fremont. I have a PowerPoint presentation on writing strategies or I could do book talks. Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate hearing from you.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

