Posted by: nancycurteman | June 11, 2012

Welcome My Guest Blogger, Bestselling Author, Melissa Foster

Bookmark and Share

I’m delighted to welcome award-winning, bestselling author Melissa Foster is a touchstone for the indie publishing community and a tireless advocate for women. She is the founder of the World Literary Café, Fostering Success, and The Women’s Nest. Melissa writes emotionally-driven contemporary fiction and suspense with passionate characters that remain with the reader long after they’ve read the last words. Melissa is a friend, mentor, brownie connoisseur, and book fiend.

Melissa Foster is the award-winning author of three International bestselling novels, Megan’s Way, Chasing Amanda, and Come Back to Me. She has also been published in Indie Chicks, an anthology. Melissa is on the advisory board for the Alliance of Independent Authors and is a touchstone in the indie publishing arena. When she’s not writing, Melissa teaches authors how to navigate the book marketing world, build their platforms, and leverage the power of social media, through her author-training programs on Fostering Success. Melissa is the founder of the World Literary Café, Fostering Success, and the Women’s Nest. She has been published in Calgary’s Child Magazine, the Huffington Post, and Women Business Owners magazine. Melissa is currently collaborating on the film adaption of Megan’s Way.

Melissa hosts an annual Aspiring Authors contest for children, she’s written for Calgary’s Child Magazine and Women Business Owners Magazine, and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa lives in Maryland with her family. Melissa’s interests include her family, reading, writing, painting, friends, helping women see the positive side of life, and visiting Cape Cod.

Melissa will be giving away books during her blog tour. Visitors can click on the blog tour jpeg to learn how to win a book!

Melissa has some excellent upbeat advice for all writers. I hope you find her post as encouraging as I did.

Reaching Beyond Borders, by Melissa Foster

 Fear can stop you in your tracks, in many more ways than one. Fear can paralyze you physically, it can stop you from striving to reach your dreams, and it can stagnate your creativity—boy can it stagnate your creativity!

Some writers are stymied by the fear that writers won’t enjoy reading their work. Others are slowed down by their unwillingness to break rules and write outside the virtual lines. If you let it, fear can permeate your life and suck the wind right out of your sails.

I’m afraid to fly. Plain and simple, I get a gut wrenching pain that collapses me to my knees. I get dizzy and claustrophobic, and I’m sure I’m that one crazy passenger that will be pounding on the windows at 30,000 feet, screaming, “Let me out!” But, I don’t let that fear stop me in my tracks. There are many ways to skin the proverbial cat.

When I was writing COME BACK TO ME, a romantic suspense set in both Iraq and Maryland, I knew the importance of research and accuracy of culture. Although I wasn’t able to travel to Iraq, my husband was. He was stationed just outside of Baghdad for six months, which created the perfect scenario for researching my book.  Through my husband, I was able to Skype and send questions to natives and visiting Americans, who provided detailed accounts and answers. I was a bit worried, at first, about doing long-distance research, but I quickly found that not only was I able to create a world around the answers I received, but by querying many different individuals, both civilian and military, the varied answers added a layer of complexity and depth that I might not have acquired by doing the research alone.

Fear, like ice cream (because everything relates to yummy food in one way or another) comes in many flavors. It’s up to us to pick the flavor that fits best with us, and find a workaround that allows us to move forward, both creatively and personally.

When’s the last time you went beyond your comfort border?

Find Melissa Foster and her Novels:

Her Books 

Her Website
Follow her, Facebook, Twitter, FB Fanpage
Chat w/her on The Women’s Nest
The World Literary Cafe, Where readers and authors unite!

Responses

  1. Very nice. Thanks Nancy and Melissa!

    Like

  2. Hi Richard, thank you for stopping by!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

