Posted by: nancycurteman | March 18, 2012

Hugh Jackman: Model for a Mystery Novel Hero

Bookmark and Share

In a few weeks my new novel, “Murder Down Under,” will come out. Hugh Jackman is the model for my mystery novel hero. The story is set in Australia and the protagonist is Maynard Christy, a Sydney detective who owns a sheep station in Northern Territory. Christy embodies all those values Australians hold dear. Think Ned Kelly.

I selected Hugh Jackman as a model for my mystery novel because of his personal values and because of the role he played in the epic movie, “Australia.”

Forty-three year old, 6 foot 3 Hugh Jackman was born in Sydney, Australia. His father must have instilled in him some important Australian ethics. Consider Jackman’s expression of his philosophy: “I’ve always said yes to the thing I’m most scared about.” (imdb.com). This certainly symbolizes the bold character Australians respect. My character could have spoken these very words.

Jackman has a giving heart. He supports several charities—Microcredit, Global Poverty Project, Bone Marrow Institute, and Operation Hope—to name a few. Generosity is another Australian ideal. It’s an ideal of my character as well.

Hugh Jackman is an achiever. He sings and plays the guitar and piano. He acts in films and on the stage. He won a Tony Award for his role in The Boy from Oz. Australians strive for their personal best. So does my character.

Although Jackman is best known for the role of Wolverine in the X-Men series, I liked him best in his role in the movie Australia. He plays a cattle drover in the outback. His character exhibits the tough, independent, principled spirit so admired by Australians. Australia opened to mixed reviews, but Jackman liked his role. About the movie Jackman said, “This is pretty much one of those roles that had me pinching myself all the way through the shoot. I got to shoot a big-budget, shamelessly old-fashioned romantic epic set against one of the most turbulent times in my native country’s history, while, at the same time, celebrating that country’s natural beauty, its people, its cultures…CV.

This is the Hugh Jackman model for my novel.

Photo: Helloboston

Another Australia Post:

Ale: Find Some of the Best at Sydney’s Lord Nelson Brewery House 

Responses

  1. Great choice!He is perfect in every way

    Like

    • I agree. Hugh Jackman is not only very attractive, he also has the excellent values I needed for my Australian detective character.

      Like

  2. Sounds like you have done some good research. He’s cute too. :-]

    Like

    • There’s a lot to learn about this complex celebrity.

      Like

  3. I love him as Wolverine myself. Great actor and I knew he sang, but not that he played guitar and the piano as well. Sounds as if you’ve chosen a great model for your character. Now here’s hoping your novel gets turned into a film, and Hugh gets to play your character 🙂

    Like

    • I also liked him in Wolverine, but that character didn’t match my novel character. Regarding a film, I’m not holding my breath, but, one never knows.

      Like

  4. I hope he stars in your Murder Down Under movie! 😀

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

