Posted by: nancycurteman | February 29, 2012

Southern Africa’s Namibia has a Softer Side

Bookmark and Share

When most people think of Namibia, they picture an arid country with hot temperatures almost year round. They picture a desolate landscape famous for the red/orange sand of its two largest deserts. The Namib Desert is known for its towering sand dunes in the Sossusvlei section along the Atlantic Coast. The great Kalahari Desert is home to the mysterious click-language speaking Bushmen. The dry Fish River Canyon rivals the grandeur of Arizona’s Grand Canyon in its vastness and harsh beauty.

I want to share a softer side of Namibia. In the northeast section of the country bordered by Angola, Zambia, Botswana and Zimbabwe is a lush finger of land called the Caprivi strip. It’s a wooded area nurtured by rivers among which are the Zambezi, the Okavanga and the Kwando.

A couple of years ago I had the opportunity to visit this beautiful section of Namibia. I stayed at the Lianshulu Lodge in the Mudumu National Park. I really roughed it in a reed and thatched chalet with shower and bathroom facilities. Gourmet meals were beautifully presented in a community dining area not far from a large swimming pool.

Game drives are the main attraction at Lianshulu. On morning and afternoon drives I saw elephants, hippos, crocs and several other animals. Bird life is abundant as well. On a Kwando riverboat trip I saw African skimmers, cormorants, kingfishers, herons and egrets.

The evening drive usually ended with a “sundowner.” We’d hop in the 4 WD game drive vehicle, find a nice spot with a view and set up a table with wine, drinks and crunchy munchies. We’d relax with our safari family and watch the spectacular African sunset.

This is the softer side of Namibia.

More about Africa:

Great Cape Town African Restaurant: Marco’s African Place

Cape Town’s District Six

The Xhosa People of Khayelitsha

Responses

  1. Actually, until now, I never thought of Namibia at all. Thanks for the information.

    Like

    • Richard, Namibia is such a fascinating country. It is the second least densely populated country in the world. Most of the population is in Windhoek, the capitol. Windhoek is very modern. The capitol was settled by Germans and is still run with typical German efficiency.

      Like

  2. My murder mystery, which I am currently working on with my publisher is set in Namibia! It follows a group of tourists as they make their way north after starting in Cape Town. We’re hoping for a Spring 2013 release if all goes well. I wrote the first draft at 220 000 words so it has needed (some) editing! It’s my third novel but my first mystery which is why I’ve been following your posts so carefully and trying very hard to follow your advice.

    Like

    • Lisa, So neat to hear you’re setting a mystery in Namibia. I’m also writing a mystery. It’s set in Cape Town and Khayelitsha Township. Two of my characters will take a short trip to Namibia.
      Keep me posted on the progress of your novel. Good luck.

      Like

  3. Thank you very much Dear Nancy :)) and thank you for this site – I learn SO much – I have a very long way to go

    Like

  4. Sounds idyllic, NC! I’ve met quite a few bloggers in Africa ~ especially Cape Town . . . but none in Namibia.

    Like

    • On my Blog Roll, you’ll find several African bloggers:

      The Only Cin (Cindy Taylor) ~ in South Africa, familiar with Cape Town
      View from the Side (Sidey/Melanie) ~ in South Africa
      Adeeyoyo’s Blog (Denise)
      Granny1947 (Kathy) ~ gorgeous sea views in Cape Town
      Naomi’s Notes ~ gorgeous photography in South Africa

      Like

      • Thanks, Nancy. I’ll check them out.

        Like

  5. It would be fun to meet some of your Cape Town cyber buddies because the novel I’m working on right now is set in Cape Town and Namibia.

    Like

  6. I knew a bit about the dunes, animals, and location on the West coast; you filled me in a lot. Nothing like a litttle water and greenery. I roughed it kind of like yours on the Amazon in Brazil. Thanks.

    Like

  7. Neat to know you’ve visited Namibia. Not many people seem to know much about the country and even fewer have been there. Never been to the Amazon or Brazil. They’re on my list.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

