Posted by: nancycurteman | August 29, 2010

A Suitable Mystery Novel Setting: Ancient and Modern Paris

I invite all my blogging friends to travel with me as I begin researching my new mystery novel set in modern Paris and ancient Lutece. The village of Lutece was the home of the Parisii people who inhabited central Paris during the Roman occupation. The city of Paris was named after these ancient Celtic Gauls.

Here is a small taste of my upcoming series of posts:

The Arenes de Lutece is what remains of a 1st century Roman amphitheater that seated about 15,000 people. The Romans built it on the slopes of the Montagne Sainte-Geneviève to provide a theatre where they could enjoy circuses with live animals, sporting events, and other spectacles of the day. Remnants of the once-grand amphitheater including parts of the stage and the barred animal cages still remain. The city added the bleachers for the convenience of visitors.

I hope you’ll join me as I add posts about both modern and historical Paris. Look for historical tidbits as well as unique details about places to visit in today’s Paris.

Responses

  1. Oooh! Nice setting.

    Like

  2. Lucky you! Yes I am jealous. But not envious. You deserve it.
    Don’t forget to go to Rue Charlot if you can (in the Marais district) and record sights (and sounds and smells, etc.) and so forth. Especially small art galleries.
    One of the scenes in Deeper Colors is there.

    If you meet anyone from Périgueux who would like to put up a novelist (free :-]) let me know. Ha.
    Have a great trip.

    Like

    • I love the Marais. I will search for a small art gallery. Free lodging in Perigueux? Not so sure.

      Like

      • I am being facetious. Unless a great big dose of serendipity arrives unexpectedly – yeah right. If I had money just meeting someone who knows something about the Dordogne region would be fantastic enough by itself. Unfortunately I don’t so I just dream dreams. :-]
        Thanks!

        Like

  3. C’est magnifique!

    Bon soir . . .

    Like

  4. Cool! Paris!

    Like

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Deandra Ritter, Nancy Curteman. Nancy Curteman said: A Suitable Mystery Novel Setting: Ancient and Modern Paris : http://wp.me/pNbRC-dT […]

    Like

  6. Bon Voyage!

    Like

  7. Have a wonderful time. I added you to my blog roll. Aloha!!

    Like

    • Thank you. I’ve also linked with you. I like your site.

      Like

  8. […] Nancy Curteman ~ Global Mysteries: From modern-day San Francisco Bay to ancient Paris, NC takes us on a global quest for miracle and […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

